## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Robert W. Hayes Jr. Michael Hitchcock

Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

December 1, 2017

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 27–November 30, 2017:

## **Circuit Court**

11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Kyliene Lee Keesley, West Columbia, SC

**Robert Michael Madsen**, Lexington, SC **Walton J. McLeod IV**, Columbia, SC

At-Large, Seat 9 Jerome P. Askins III, Johnsonville, SC

The Honorable Jennifer Blanchard McCoy, Charleston, SC

Grady L. Patterson III, Columbia, SC

**Family Court** 

2<sup>nd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Angela W. Abstance, Barnwell, SC

3<sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Thomas Murray Bultman, Sumter, SC

**Edgar Robert Donnald Jr.**, Sumter, SC **Ernest Joseph Jarrett**, Kingstree, SC

6<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Catherine S. Hendrix, Blair, SC

Debra A. Matthews, Blackstock, SC

8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Bryan C. Able, Laurens, SC

**Ashley Phillips Case**, Fountain Inn, SC **Matthew Price Turner**, Laurens, SC

11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Huntley Smith Crouch, Lexington, SC

12th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 FitzLee Howard McEachin, Florence, SC

Stuart Wesley Snow Sr., Florence, SC

The Honorable Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Florence, SC

## **Master-in-Equity**

Florence County William Haigh Porter, Florence, SC

York County David Eugene Simpson, Rock Hill, SC

Teasa Kay Weaver, York, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 16, 2018. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 7, 2018.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Legare, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.